Pakistan Resolution Day

Peaceful Pakistan pays tribute to the heroes of the Pakistan Movement who through Lahore Resolution made Pakistan a possibility. Qarardad-e-Lahore, better known as The Lahore Resolution was a three-day general session held in Minto Park from March 22-24 1940. An integral and dynamic reform during The Pakistan Movement, it initially called for the creation of a group of ‘independent states’ for Muslims. As a result of the sacrifice and sheer dedication of the members of The Pakistan Movement, the resolution evolved as a demand for a separate and single Muslim state called Pakistan.



Baba-i-Quam Quaid-e-Azam
In 1940, the Muslim League, led by Quaid-e-Azam, passed the Lahore Resolution, demanding a separate nation. The Quaid’s vision was not only to create a separate homeland for Muslims, but was to build a secure and secular homeland where minorities, women, and the youth can enjoy the true essence of freedom.



Shair-e-Mashriq Allama Iqbal
Also known as the ‘Spiritual Founder of Pakistan,’ Sir Muhammad Allama Iqbal woke the conscience of the Muslims of Sub-Continent through his poetic and philosophic works. Allama Iqbal, who was the first to dream of a separate homeland for Muslims, is widely regarded as having inspired the Pakistan Movement.



Shaheed-e-Millat Liaqat Ali Khan
The first Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nawabzada Liaqat Ahmed Khan, was one of the leading Founding Fathers of modern Pakistan. Jinnah told party members that the ultimate aim was to obtain Pakistan. With the ultimate goal to achieve ‘Pakistan,’ Liaqat Ali Khan during the years of Pakistan Movement, moved a resolution incorporating the objectives of the Pakistan Resolution in the aims and objectives of the Muslim League. The resolution was seconded and passed unanimously.



Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
The force behind The Alighar Movement, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan was a great visionary, statesman and Muslim reformer recognised for being the first Indian Muslim to contribute to the intellectual and institutional foundation of Muslim modernization in the Sub-continent.



Hafeez Jullundhri
Abu Al-Asar Hafeez Jullundhri, penned the lyrics of the national anthem. A writer and poet by profession, Jullundhri actively participated in Pakistan Movement while using his writings to propagate for the cause of Pakistan. Hafeez Jullundhri is also credited for writing Kashmiri Anthem, “Watan Hamara Azad Kashmir”.



Sher-e-Bangla A K Fazul Haq:
The Lahore Resolution known as Qarardad-e-Lahore, presented by Sher-e-Bangla A. K. Fazlul Huq, the Prime Minister of Bengal, was a formal political statement adopted by the All-India Muslim League on the occasion of its three-day general session in Lahore on March 22–24, 1940.



Proponent of the name ‘Pakistan’ Choudhry Rahmat Ali
Choudhry Rahmat Ali, one of the earliest proponents of the creation of a separate Muslim homeland, coined the name ‘Pakistan’ in his famous 1933 pamphlet titled “Now or Never; Are We to Live or Perish Forever.” The pamphlet later in came to be known as the “Pakistan Declaration”.



Representative of Pakistan resolution in the Sindh Assembly GM Syed
Under the influence of Sindhi activist, revolutionary and Sufi GM Syed, the Sindh assembly was the first British Indian legislature to pass the resolution in favor of Pakistan. He joined the Muslim League in 1938 and was one of the forefront leaders of Sindh.



Composer of Pakistan National Anthem Ahmed Ghulam Ali Chagla
Ahmed Ghulam Ali Chagla, the first Pakistani musical composer, wrote the musical composition for the national anthem of Pakistan in 1950. Chagla was awarded President’s Pride of Performance in 1997 for his contribution to composing the national anthem.



Chairman of Lahore Resolution Reception Committee Sir Shah Nawaz Khan of Mamdot
Sir Shah Nawaz Khan, an eminent freedom fighter, had the honour of making the opening speech during Lahore Resolution in 1940. He was also the chairman of the reception committee and personally bore all the expenses.